Author Topic: Everything is Flat!  (Read 88 times)

Yildiz

• View Profile
Everything is Flat!
« on: May 09, 2019, 09:17:07 PM »
I am a beginner who has blown 30 to 60+ minutes daily for about 7 months, most on yildiz, also sah nisfiye and bolahenk nisfiye.  I have focused on the first octave, working hard at low rast.  On all notes I have simply played them in the manner that makes them sound strongest and seemingly in tune with each other.  This August I will be playing with others for the first time, mainly in support of a singer/guitarist doing western pop/folk.  I have just added cheaper supurde and kiz to my collection to give me more options for matching keys.  Upon playing into a tuner I have found I am solidly a quarter tone flat on virtually every note on every ney!  :-[

The one exception seems to be my favorite ney, plastic yildiz made by Niri.  I'm in tune for both 1st and 2nd registers on that ney.  On all others, I am flat, typically falling exactly halfway between semi-tones.  I can pinch them up with effort, but the notes then sound a bit strangled and sometimes fail, especially in first octave.  The neys are from various makers, including one by Ahmed Abd El Ghanis, so I'm pretty sure I am the problem.  Any ideas?  Is there something wrong with my lips?  Is it the altitude?  My breath?  :(

dHuGo

• View Profile
Re: Everything is Flat!
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2019, 05:52:42 PM »
Hi Yildiz,
after about a month, is your problem still evident?! - Me, I'm not succeeded to play on any flute - and Niri seems to be busy, busy a lot these days....

Now I remembered your topic not having any answer, I read over your question again. As an technician I might have some idea of what you're talking about - and now realised, that you don't have your problem with plastic Ney, while same troubles with all the reed, isnit?! - Then all problem is within material!!!